ELECTORAL STATISTICS

TABLE 13.3: ELECTIONS TO THE VIDHAN SABHAS - CONTD. (State Legislative Assemblies)

Year	Number of seats		Number of electors	Number of votes polled	Number of valid votes polled	Percentage of voted polled (col.4 to col.3)
1	2		3	4	5	6
1952(1)	3283	DE	230696391	103801199	103801199	45.10
		CE	170881923	79108455	79108455	46.29
		TE	172121948			
1957(2)	2906	DE	243510779	116244689	113217311	47.74
		CE	177128066	86269316	_	48.70
		TE	179133387	-	_	-
1962	2855	CE	196640779	110683769	104946596	56.29
		TE	197485529		-	
1967(3)	3487	CE	247104213	151793713	143256509	61.43
		TE	250247161		-	
1968-69(4)	1278	TE	106479426	61206108	59409050	57.48
1970 (5)	133	TE	10169467	7634451	7529936	75.07
1971(6)	654	TE	56483781	34984195	33489238	61.94
1972(7)	2757	TE	195790003	109421896	106052920	56.03
1974(8)	722	CE	62921455	35539467	43315862	56.48
		TE	62932027		_	<u></u>
1975(9)	182	TE	13982248	8402069	8059752	60.39
1977(10)	2677	CE	228401395	124353838	121902538	54.42
		TE	228406814		_	-
1978(11)	1052	CE	86320098	60574326	58889134	70.17
		TE	86335305		-	
1979-80(12)	2589	CE	260913839	140242445	137702528	53.75
		TE	261099116		_	<u></u>
1982(13)	652		52972914	39638859	38948948	74.83
1983(14)	694		56385755	38107245	37238744	67.58
1983(15)	1	CE	7284812	2385190	111100	32.74
		TE	7582972		-	
1983(16)	76		3101665	2271809	2197117	73.24
1984-85(17)	3131	CE	345311448		-	
		TE	345446121	200300591	195689957	57.98
1987(18)	700		64455682	49174919	48443518	76.29
1988(19)	120		1343066	1151658	1136405	87.75
1991(20)	1339		202478654	126492679	122157235	62.47
1992(21)	117		13171851	3137915	3005083	23.82
1993(22)	1303		172149306	101860265	99557483	59.17
1994(23)	590		76603054	53677152	52591290	70.08
1995(24)	1061		165762306	111729353	108524664	67.40
1996(25)	1421		238394593	157694247	153256544	55.46
1997(26)	117		15225395	10463868	10289814	68.73
1998(27)	1060		119408958	72695149	71064924	60.88
1999(28)	938		142570642	93404034	89585575	65.51
2000(29)	621		96848465	60863266	60086040	62.84
2001(30)	824		132981673	91682025	91503795	68.94
2002(31)	959		162610378	91923473	91742832	56.53
2003(32)	878		102629569	69236882	66806794	67.46
2004(33)	697		115667178	78066138	78026621	67.49
2005(34)	657		134575644	67354156	67342495	50.05
2006(35)	824		134345929	101812769	101755877	75.78
2007(36)	938		180225337	95760846	95926937	53.13
2008(37)	180		4554900	4106644	4100021	90.16

Source: Election Commission of India

For footnotes, please see next page.

ELECTORAL STATISTICS

TABLE 13.3: ELECTIONS TO THE VIDHAN SABHAS - CONCLD. (State Legislative Assemblies)

- DV Votes in contested constituencies including 2/3 votes for each elector in 2/3 member constituencies.
- CE Elector in the contested constituencies only.
- TE: Total Electors.
- (1) The first General Election in the country was held from October, 1951 to March ,1952. At that time, there were three types of constituencies single member, two member and three member.
- (2) In second General Election held in 1957, there were two types of constituencies-single member and two member.
- (3) Including three seats alloted to Naga Hills Districts where the constituencies failed to elect any member.
- (4) Figures relate to mid-term General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Haryana which went to poll in 1968 and Bihar, Nagaland, Punjab, Uttra Pradesh, West Bengal and Puducherry which went to poll in 1969.
- (5) Figures relate to Kerala.
- (6) This includes figures for Orisa ,Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.
- (7) This includes figures for Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharastra, Manipur, Meghalya, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tripura, West Bengal, Delhi, Goa, Daman & Diu and Mizoram.
- (8) This includes figures for Manipur, Nagaland, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh and Puducherry.
- (9) Figures relate to Gujarat.
- (10) This includes figures for Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi(Metro), Goa, Daman & Diu and Puducherry.
- (11) This includes figures for Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram.
- (12) In 1979-80, 16 States/ Union Territories went to poll i.e Bihar, Gujarat, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Daman & Diu, Mizoram and Puducherry.
- (13) This includes figures for Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Nagaland and West Bengal.
- (14) This includes figures for Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Tripura and Delhi.
- (15) Figures relate to Assam and are exclusive of data in respect of one Assembly Constituency where the poll was countermanded and 16 Assembly Constituencies where poll was adjourened. Besides there were 4 uncontested constituencies. The CE is for 105 while TE is for 109 constituencies.
- (16) Thr figures relate to Jammu & Kashmir and are excluding figures for 48-Doda Assembly Constitency.
- (17) This includes figures for Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharastra, Maharastra, Manipur, Orisa, Karnataka, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa and Daman & Diu.
- (18) This includes figures for Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Mizoram, Nagaland and West Bengal.
- (19) This include figures for Meghalaya and Tripura.
- (20) The figures relate to Assam, Haryana, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Puducherry. The figures are exclusive of data in respect of assembly constituencies where the poll was countermanded in Uttar Pradesh.
- (21) Figures relate to Punjab.
- (22) This include figures for Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Uttar Pradesh.
- (23) This includes figures for Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka and Sikkim.
- (24) This includes figures for Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Manipur and Orissa.
- (25) This includes figures for Assam, Haryana, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, West-Bengal and Uttar Pradesh.
- (26) This relate to Punjab.
- (27) Data relate to states of Gujarat, Meghalaya, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, N.C.T. of Delhi and Nagaland.
- (28) Data relate to Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Sikkim and Goa. Data for Arunachal Pradesh pertains to 56 constituencies where polling took place.
- (29) Data relate to Bihar, Haryana, Manipur and Orissa.
- (30) Data relate to Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Pondicherry.
- (31) Data relate to Goa, Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttara Khand and Gujarat.
- (32) Data relate to the figures for Chhattisgarh, Meghalaya, Himachal Pradesh , Tripura, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, N.C.T. of Delhi and Nagaland.
- (33) Data relate to Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Orissa and Sikkim.
- (34) Data relate to Bihar, Haryana and Jharkhand. Election to Bihar Legislative Assembly was held twice.
- (35) Data relate to Assam, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamilnadu and West Bengal.
- (36) Data relate to Goa, Gujarat, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttara Khand.
- (37) Data relate to Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.