Annexure AA4

Minutes of the Meeting of the Subgroup on Infrastructure Statistics held on 7.1.09

As decided by the Standing Committee on Infrastructure Statistics in its meeting held on 16.12.08 a subgroup was constituted to finalise the coverage of sectors and subsectors for compilation of Annual Infrastructure Statistics. A meeting of this Subgroup was held on 7.1.09, under the chairmanship of Shri Vijay Kumar, Additional Director General, Central Statistical Organisation. The meeting was attended by Ms. Preeti Madan, Economic Adviser, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP); Ms. Vandana Aggarwal, Director, Planning Commission; Ms. Reenu Aneja, Consultant, Planning Commission; Shri Ashwani Tripathi, Director, DSIM, Reserve Bank of India; Shri D. Sahoo, Dy. Director General, ESD, CSO and Ms. Malti Devi Negi, Director, ESD, CSO. Representative of the Infrastructure Division, M/o Finance could not attend the meeting.

At the outset Shri Vijay Kumar welcomed the participants and requested them to give their views on the criteria/ definition to be followed for deciding coverage of sectors/sub-sectors for infrastructure statistics.

Ms. Vandana Aggarwal, Director, Planning Commission; explained that, the Committee on Infrastructure (CoI), under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister, was constituted on 31st August, 2004 with the objective of initiating policies that would ensure time-bound creation of world class infrastructure. The Empowered Sub-Committee of the Committee on Infrastructure in its meetings held on 11 January, 2008 and 2 April 2008 under the chairmanship of Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, has admitted that there is no clear definition of infrastructure. However, for ensuring consistency and comparability of the data collected and reported by different agencies overtime, a clear understanding of the term 'infrastructure' is necessary. After considering the report of National Statistical Commission(2001) and reports/notifications of different agencies like Dr. Rakesh Mohan Committee Report (1996), Reserve Bank of India circular, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority Notification, Income Tax Act, World Bank, Economic Survey, the Empowered Sub Committee has decided by consensus, the following to be included in the term 'infrastructure':

- (i) Electricity (including generation, transmission and distribution) and R&M (renovation and modernization) of power stations,
- (ii) Non-Conventional Energy (including wind energy and solar energy),
- (iii) Water supply and sanitation (including solid waste management, drainage and sewerage) and street lighting,
- (iv) Telecommunications.
- (v) Road & bridges,
- (vi) Ports,
- (vii) Inland waterways,
- (viii) Airports,
- (ix) Railways (including rolling stock and mass transit system),
- (x) Irrigation (including watershed development),
- (xi) Storage,

(xii) Oil and gas pipeline networks.

Ms. Vandana proposed that the above sectors/ sub sectors only may be covered for infrastructure statistics as it reflects interdepartmental consensus at the All-India level. The representatives from DIPP and RBI also endorsed this view after some discussion. As regards CSO, it was explained by Shri Sahoo that the sectors/ sub-sectors proposed by CSO before the Standing Committee broadly include all these sectors/ sub-sectors except bridges, storage and street lighting which have not been included because of data availability problems. However, keeping in view decision of the sub-group fresh attempts can be made in this regard. In the following cases where CSO proposed coverage of additional sectors/ sub-sectors, the sub-group decided that:-

- (i) 'postal communications' may be included in the telecommunication sector
- (ii) 'coal reserves' may be covered under 'electricity generation'
- (iii) Only 'airport' may be covered in the 'civil aviation sector'
- (iv) Only 'ports' may be covered in the 'shipping sector'

As regards coverage of indicators under each of the sectors/ sub sectors, the sub-group decided that the matter may be considered in the next meeting of the Standing Committee in the presence of representatives of the departments concerned.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.